What we found
- Single source, but it is an official consumer protection agency advisory published under its own name.
- The advisory is general and forward-looking preparedness guidance, not a report of an observed active campaign.
- No incident counts, loss figures, contact channels or impersonated entities are given, so the shape of any live approach is unknown.
- Reviewed by 4 models, 3 from independent houses.
What we don’t know
- How impostors make first contact — door, phone, text, email or social post — is not stated.
- What payment method or account details are requested is not stated.
- Whether any specific agency, charity or contractor brand is being impersonated is not stated.
- How many people have been approached, and any dollar losses, are not stated.
The bench — who voted
4 INDEPENDENT AI MODELS REVIEWED THIS. 3 OF 4 — ONE MODEL DISSENTED. READ WHY.
The card names a count. Here are the seats behind it, with what each one said.
DISSENT, PRESERVEDI would publish the first sentence and the caveats and cut or separately source the rest. As written the alert asserts specific advisory contents that the harvested row does not evidence, and that is the kind of small drift that erodes trust in the whole series.
DISSENT, PRESERVEDOn grade: I hold moderate because this is a preparedness advisory with no live campaign, no contact channel and no ask — a reader meeting only this text is not at immediate risk. I want it on record, though, that the underlying real-world pattern (bogus post-disaster contractors taking deposits, and people impersonating relief agencies to harvest identity data from displaced households) routinely produces four- and five-figure losses against victims under duress. Anyone reading my moderate as 'minor' is misreading it.
Reviewed by 4 independent models; all judged the finding to go beyond the evidence.
▼ Protocol & challenge record
ON THE RECORDMy core objection is OBJ-1 and I do not consider it a stylistic quibble. The alert's own unknowns list says the contact channel is not stated, and the risk_line then tells readers to expect someone 'at your door or on your line'. That is not colour; it is an assertion of fact about scammer method, invented at the point of maximum reader attention, contradicted three paragraphs later by the outlet's own caveat. If this ships unchanged I want it recorded that the disclosure block was accurate and the headline risk line was not.
ON THE RECORDI also dissent from the audience_callout. The pipeline correctly refused to tell readers to forward this to people 'rebuilding' or hit by 'fire' because no source describes those people as targeted — and then addressed the whole alert to 'ANYONE IN A DISASTER-HIT AREA' anyway. Either post-disaster readers are an evidenced target group or they are not. Applying the rule to the share directive and not to the callout is not a rule, it is a formality.
ON THE RECORDBroader dissent, for the record: this item contains no incident, no impersonated entity, no channel, no payment method, no victim count and no loss figure. It is a government agency's annual seasonal reminder. Dressing it in alert furniture — a threat callout, a doorstep risk line, bank and card icons — manufactures urgency that the underlying document does not carry. The honest version of this is a short 'FTC publishes annual preparedness guidance' note. I would run it that way or not at all.
The sources
Official sourceThis National Preparedness Month, plan ahead to avoid scams2026-09-09
The Federal Trade Commission has published a National Preparedness Month alert saying that after emergencies, scammers often pose as government officials, charities, or contractors.
Other checks
Published under standing founder pass (A9) — every claim source-mapped by the machine.
▼ What the machine checked
- ✓ Not a community submission.
- ✓ No entity is named.
- ✓ All 3 material sentence(s) map to FTC.
- ✗ anthropic returned "overstated"; google returned "overstated"; groq returned "overstated"; openrouter returned "overstated" — published on the receipt, not blocking (A9 amendment).
- ✓ No audience band is set.
No human affirmed these. They were verified by the classifier described in Amendment A9, on 2026-09-10.
Something wrong here? Tell us and we'll correct it — corrections are published, not quietly edited.
Phishy? Send it → sharelivefraud.com/squire-it
Not affiliated with any government agency, credit bureau, bank, platform, or law-enforcement agency. Informational only — not legal or financial advice.
Naming a source is not an endorsement, and being named here is not an accusation against any company.
Powered by SquireIt™