What we found
- The single harvested row is an official FTC consumer alert and is the direct source for every sentence.
- The description of the tool, the age range and the activity formats are stated plainly in the row text.
- Only one row was harvested, so there is no corroborating or contrasting material.
- Reviewed by 2 models, 1 from independent houses.
- This is a higher-risk finding. Our rule asks for 2 independent reviews before we state full confidence; 1 returned.
- Confidence is shown as moderate for that reason, not because the evidence is weaker.
What we don’t know
- Whether any specific scam tactic aimed at children prompted the release is not stated in the harvested row.
- No report counts, loss figures or age-group victim data appear in the harvested material.
- How long the free bookmark orders remain available is not stated.
- Whether translated or classroom versions exist is not stated.
The bench — who voted
2 INDEPENDENT AI MODELS REVIEWED THIS. 1 OF 2 — ONE MODEL DISSENTED. READ WHY.
The card names a count. Here are the seats behind it, with what each one said.
DISSENT, PRESERVEDThe underlying CLAIM as written is carried by the evidence; my 'overstated' verdict is directed at the expanded FINDING, not at the existence of the resource. An editor who trims the finding back to the row's contents would have a publishable item.
Reviewed by 2 independent models; all judged the finding to go beyond the evidence.
▼ Protocol & challenge record
ON THE RECORDI do not accept the final sentence of the finding. It has no row backing, it invents a phishing scenario that appears nowhere in the harvest, and it sits inside a paragraph a reader will read as the FTC's own guidance. It also flatly contradicts the draft's risk_line. Generic hygiene advice is not free of cost when it implies a threat that was never reported. Cut it, or move it out of the attributed finding and label it plainly as the Desk's own general advice, unconnected to this alert.
ON THE RECORDI do not accept 'confidence: high' being applied uniformly. Nobody confirmed the destination page or the bookmark offer is still live. Telling parents to go order free bookmarks off a single seasonal alert, without touching the URL, is the kind of small currency failure that produces dead links and lost trust. Downgrade the operational portion.
ON THE RECORDIf it were my call I would also drop 'teacher' from the share directive. The draft simultaneously tells teachers to use this and admits it does not know whether a classroom version exists. Pick one.
The sources
Official sourceYouville: Helping kids build online safety skills this summer and school year2026-08-05
The FTC's August 2026 consumer alert describes Youville as a free tool with printable sheets, lesson plans and bookmarks to help 8-12 year-olds learn to protect personal information and to spot and avoid scams.
Other checks
Approved by ihubglobalhq on 2026-08-17, after the six-point evidence checklist.
Something wrong here? Tell us and we'll correct it — corrections are published, not quietly edited.
Phishy? Send it → sharelivefraud.com/squire-it
Not affiliated with any government agency, credit bureau, bank, platform, or law-enforcement agency. Informational only — not legal or financial advice.
Naming a source is not an endorsement, and being named here is not an accusation against any company.
Powered by SquireIt™