FRAUD CHECK — Squire It™
sharelivefraud.com/squire-it
LIVE FRAUD ALERT
LIVEFRAUD Check #90
FTC WARNS

An auto dealership group advertised vehicle prices thousands of dollars below what buyers were actually charged, and mailed fake prize notices to pull people into its showrooms, according to the FTC.

HIGH CONFIDENCEPublished 2026-10-09
S
Q
U
I
R
E
D
E
S
K
·
C
H
E
C
K
E
D
·
B
A
T
T
L
E
D
·
R
E
C
E
I
P
T
E
D
·
S

What we found

The Federal Trade Commission announced on 8 October 2026 that Greenway Auto Group agreed to a settlement requiring its price advertisements to prominently include the actual price a consumer must pay for a vehicle, excluding only government-required charges. According to the FTC's complaint, the company charged consumers more than $3,350 on average over the advertised price in over 92% of transactions, through add-ons described as administrative fees, dealer fees, delivery fees and processing fees. The FTC also alleges the company lured consumers into dealerships with scam mailers claiming recipients had won thousands of dollars in cash prizes collectable at a dealership, when the prizes were not real. The complaint states that after the FTC's Bureau of Consumer Protection sent a warning letter in March 2026 advising that the "price consumers see in advertising is the actual price they will pay," the company added assurances of price transparency to its websites while continuing to advertise vehicles for thousands less than their actual prices. The proposed order also prohibits misrepresentations about whether charges, fees, taxes, products or services are optional or required, and whether any type of or source for financing is required. Before you visit any dealership, ask for the full out-the-door price in writing — every fee, add-on and penalty included — and refuse to sign until the written total matches the advertised figure. The harvested material does not say how many people received the prize mailers, whether any money is being returned to buyers, or whether the court has signed the stipulated order, which the FTC notes has the force of law only once approved and signed by the District Court judge. These are allegations in a complaint and a settlement the company agreed to; our harvested material contains no response from the company beyond what the FTC describes. LIVEFRAUD ALERTS is independent and not affiliated with the FTC or with any company named here; the named business appears only because an official source named it.
THE RULE
An advertised car price thousands below the real total, plus a mailer saying you have won cash, are both ways to get you standing in a showroom.

What we don’t know

The bench — who voted

3 INDEPENDENT AI MODELS REVIEWED THIS. ALL 3: HIGH RISK.

The card names a count. Here are the seats behind it, with what each one said.

ANTHROPICclaude-opus-5 · HIGH
The single evidence row refers only to 'a dealership group' and names no company. The finding names 'Greenway Auto Group' as the respondent. Nothing in the supplied material supports attaching this conduct to that named entity, and the alert publishes the name beside fraud allegations. Either the naming must be dropped or a source row that names the company must be added before publication.
DISSENT, PRESERVEDThe core claim as written in the CLAIM line — that the FTC alleges an unnamed dealership group advertised prices thousands below actual charges and mailed fake prize notices — is fully carried by the evidence. My objection is to the unsourced specificity layered on top of it, not to the substance of the alert.
DISSENT, PRESERVEDI would record that naming a specific business on evidence that does not name it is the kind of error that is not fixable after publication, and should be treated as a stop-publication issue rather than a correction-later issue, regardless of whether the name turns out to be right.
DISSENT, PRESERVEDThe practical advice to demand a written out-the-door total before signing is sound and independently useful to readers; it should survive any rewrite.
GROQopenai/gpt-oss-120b · HIGH
Finding asserts a settlement announcement on 8 Oct 2026 and that Greenway Auto Group agreed to it, but evidence only contains FTC allegations; no settlement, date, or website assurances are provided.
OPENROUTERopenrouter/free · HIGH
The finding states the FTC announced the settlement on 8 October 2026, but the evidence does not mention this date.

Reviewed by 3 independent models; all judged the finding to go beyond the evidence.

▼ Protocol & challenge record
Objection (high): The advice sentence is substantively wrong and contradicts the very order it is reporting. It tells readers to 'refuse to sign until the written total matches the advertised figure.' The FTC order expressly carves out 'charges the government requires consumers to pay' — tax, title, tag, registration. An out-the-door total will almost always lawfully exceed the advertised price by those government charges. A reader following this literally would never be able to buy a car, and would be left thinking any excess over the advertised number is proof of fraud. The actionable, source-consistent version is: the advertised price should equal everything the dealer charges, with only government-required fees added on top; get the itemised out-the-door figure in writing and challenge any dealer-created line item (administrative, dealer, delivery, processing) that was not in the ad.
Not resolved — preserved on the record.
Objection (high): Entity/domain disambiguation failure. The finding names 'Greenway Auto Group' with no location, while the harvested row identifies the venue as the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Florida, Orlando Division. 'Greenway' is a common dealership name across multiple states and franchises (Ford, Kia, etc.), and the FTC release itself does not state which legal entities or which rooftops are covered. Publishing a bare brand name with no geography invites readers to attach FTC fraud allegations to same-name dealerships that were never sued. The Orlando / Middle District of Florida anchor must appear in the finding body, not only in confidence_reasons, and the draft should say plainly that the harvested material does not list which individual dealership locations are covered.
Resolved: Fixable from the harvested row alone: the venue line (U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Florida, Orlando Division) is present and can be moved into the finding body, together with an explicit note that the material does not identify which individual dealership locations are covered.
Objection (high): The callout and directive option sets contain a machine artifact that must not ship. 'ATTENTION: CHRISTOPHERS', 'Send this to any christopher you know' and 'Forward this to the christophers in your life' are derived from Christopher Mufarrige, the FTC Bureau of Consumer Protection director quoted in the release — i.e. an official's first name has been extracted and turned into an audience segment. That is an entity-extraction error, not a targeting judgement, and it would make the alert look like it is addressing people named Christopher about a car-dealer case. 'ATTENTION: VETERANS' is likewise unsupported: nothing in the harvested row mentions veterans, military buyers, or any demographic. Only 'ANYONE FINANCING A VEHICLE' is arguably defensible, and even that is a stretch since the complaint is about advertised cash price and fees, not financing — though the order does cover misrepresentations about required financing sources.
Resolved: Challenger recommends deleting the three 'christopher' options and 'ATTENTION: VETERANS' outright from callout_options and directive_options. They are not close calls; one is an extraction bug off a quoted official's first name and the other is an unsourced demographic claim about who is at risk. Desk has not yet acted; recorded for the record.
Objection (medium): Omitted deceptive mechanism that is directly useful to readers. The source states 'Greenway's advertised prices at times also allegedly reflected conditional rebates and discounts available only to a subset of consumers.' That is a second, distinct way the advertised number was allegedly unreachable, and it is the one a shopper is most likely to encounter at other dealers. Dropping it narrows the finding to add-on fees only and weakens the practical value of the piece.
Not resolved — preserved on the record.
Objection (medium): The unknowns list contains an item the harvested row partially answers. 'Whether the same fee or prize-mailer tactics are in use at other dealership groups' sits awkwardly against the release's own cross-reference, 'FTC Warns 97 Auto Dealership Groups About Deceptive Pricing,' plus the line that the Commission is pursuing price transparency across grocery delivery, rental housing and ticketing. The draft should either use that context (the FTC has warned 97 dealership groups about deceptive pricing; Greenway is the one it sued) or drop the unknown. As written it understates what the single source already supports.
Resolved: Fixable from the harvested row: the '97 auto dealership groups' warning reference is in the source and can replace or narrow the overbroad unknown.
Objection (medium): Source-to-claim softening on the website assurances. The complaint, as quoted in the row, says Greenway responded to the March 2026 warning by 'adding false assurances of price transparency to their websites.' The draft renders this as 'added assurances of price transparency.' Dropping 'false' loses the allegation's core — that the transparency promises themselves were deceptive — and leaves a reader thinking the company merely added boilerplate. Restore 'false' inside the attribution ('the complaint alleges the company added false assurances...').
Resolved: Straightforward fidelity fix available: reinsert 'false' inside the existing attribution to the complaint. No new sourcing needed; the word is in the harvested row.
Objection (medium): Confidence is labelled 'high' while the third confidence_reason is in fact a caveat that cuts the other way: single official source, no independent corroboration, allegations untested, order not yet signed. High confidence is defensible only for the narrower proposition 'the FTC said this on 8 October 2026'; it is not defensible for the conduct itself. The reason list should be rewritten so that the caveat is recorded as a limitation rather than booked as support for high confidence.
Not resolved — preserved on the record.
Objection (medium): The lead sentence calls it 'a settlement requiring' the company's ads to include actual prices, in the present/operative tense, and only seven sentences later discloses that the stipulated order has force of law solely once a judge signs it. The source frames it as a proposed order filed with the complaint. 'Proposed' or 'pending court approval' belongs in the first sentence, not quarantined in the limitation block.
Resolved: Fixable by inserting 'proposed' / 'pending a judge's signature' into the first finding sentence; the existing limitation sentence then reinforces rather than rescues.
Objection (low): The release does not state whether Greenway admitted or denied the allegations, and settlement of this type ordinarily involves no admission. The draft's phrase 'a settlement the company agreed to' can read as tacit corroboration of the complaint. Add that the harvested material does not say whether the company admitted the conduct.
Resolved: Fixable by appending to the existing limitation sentence that the harvested material does not say whether the company admitted the allegations.
Objection (low): watch_icons includes 'link', which signals an online/phishing vector. The alleged mechanisms here are print mailers and in-person showroom transactions, plus website claims. 'link' is a poor match and 'mail' or similar would be more accurate.
Not resolved — preserved on the record.
Preserved dissent
ON THE RECORDThe advice line is the worst thing in this draft and I do not accept it in any form that survives without rewriting. 'Refuse to sign until the written total matches the advertised figure' is advice that cannot be followed, because tax, title, tag and registration are government-required charges that the FTC's own order expressly excludes from the advertised price. We would be publishing, under a fraud-alert banner, a rule that makes every lawful car sale in America look like a scam. The reader standing at the finance desk with our alert in hand will either walk away from a legitimate deal or, worse, conclude we do not know what we are talking about. Fix it to: the advertised price should cover everything the dealer charges, with only government fees on top.
ON THE RECORDThe 'CHRISTOPHERS' callouts and directives are an entity-extraction failure off the first name of Christopher Mufarrige, the FTC Bureau of Consumer Protection director quoted in the press release. They should never have reached an options list and must not be offered as selectable copy. 'ATTENTION: VETERANS' is in the same bucket for a different reason: there is not one word about veterans anywhere in the harvested material, and inventing a target demographic for a fraud alert is precisely the harm the targeting rule exists to prevent. The draft's own targeting_dropped block correctly refused three unsourced audience claims; these four are not distinguishable from them and the inconsistency is indefensible.
ON THE RECORDNaming a dealership brand in a fraud alert without naming the state is, in my view, a publication-grade error regardless of the fact that the FTC did the same. The FTC has subpoena power, a docket number and a defendant it can identify precisely; we have a brand string. 'Greenway' dealerships operate under multiple franchises and owners, and some of them were not sued. Omitting 'Orlando / Middle District of Florida' from the body when we already hold that fact is a choice to be less precise than our own source.

The sources

Official sourceFTC Secures Settlement with Auto Dealership Group in Price Transparency Win for Consumers2026-10-08
The FTC alleges a dealership group advertised prices thousands below the actual charge — more than $3,350 over the advertised price on average in over 92% of transactions — and mailed fake cash-prize notices to draw people into dealerships.
Authority: official. Retrieved 2026-10-09.
Limitation: Allegations from an FTC complaint and a proposed stipulated order; the release states the order has the force of law only when approved and signed by the District Court judge, and gives no figure for consumers affected or money returned.
Open the original source →

Other checks

Every check we have published →

Share this receipt
sharelivefraud.com/check/wYI44gQ

Published under standing founder pass (A9) — every claim source-mapped by the machine.

▼ What the machine checked
  • ✓ Not a community submission.
  • ✗ Draws on an FTC enforcement release, which names a defendant: "FTC Secures Settlement with Auto Dealership Group in Price Transparency Win for ".
  • ✓ All 5 material sentence(s) map to FTC.
  • ✗ anthropic returned "overstated"; groq returned "overstated"; openrouter returned "overstated" — published on the receipt, not blocking (A9 amendment).
  • ✓ No audience band is set.

No human affirmed these. They were verified by the classifier described in Amendment A9, on 2026-10-09.

Something wrong here? Tell us and we'll correct it — corrections are published, not quietly edited.

Phishy? Send it → sharelivefraud.com/squire-it

Not affiliated with any government agency, credit bureau, bank, platform, or law-enforcement agency. Informational only — not legal or financial advice.

Naming a source is not an endorsement, and being named here is not an accusation against any company.

Powered by SquireIt™

Verify this receipt at squireit.com

Join Squire’s First Watch

Alerts before the feed. Credit when your summons becomes a receipt. A vote on what we check next. Founding names are permanent.

Get the next one

We publish a receipt for every alert, including the ones we decide not to run.

We will ask you to confirm before anything is sent. Your address is used for this and nothing else, and is never shared.